Floating 8

DSC_0004

This free pattern, Floating 8, came to me by way of one of the quilting blogs I belong to.  Time often dictates a glance with blog email and a quick turn to the next page.  I suspected the blocks were cut at 5″ (they are) and this would be a great way to use up some excess and orphan charm squares.

The shopping list for this pattern suggests 8 assorted fat quarters.  The sample quilt appears to be made from a single fabric line and I find the flower border on the sample very inspirational.  My fabric archives desperately need thinning out so I went scrappy with my blocks of eight.  The white background was a bargain bin purchase from All About Fabrics.

This quilt finished at 68″ X 86″.  My fabric archives include 4″ blocks.  I wonder what that would look like?  Should I use five 4″ blocks or go with four 4″ blocks?  I may have to make one block and ask my friends for advice.

Floating 8 will be given to Logan Lap Quilters for the charity program.

(In error, I originally posted this to a blog I manage vice my personal page.)

3 thoughts on “Floating 8

    • scstephquilts says:

      Absolutely. There are only straight lines which makes it a great beginner pattern. Your most challenging part will be deciding which 5″ charm squares to put next to each other. Good luck and be sure to come back and post a photo when you are done.

      Like

Leave a Reply

