Kid’s Quilted Play Mat

DSC_0256This cat border fabric was purchased from, the now out of business quilt shop, The Quilted Pearl.  The time is here to retrieve it from the archives.

I found this project, Kid’s Quilted Play Mat, on allpeoplequilt.com.  Their quilt is made with a fabric called Fun on the Farm from Wilmington Prints.

One of my 2016 resolutions is a continuation from 2015, to use more fabric than I purchase.  Without any fabric with farm animals in my stash, I will make my quilt with cats.  It appears I have enough fabric to be able to fussy cut cats for the center squares.  An assortment of green, blue, yellow and pink will also be included.  When I get to the first, second and fourth borders, I will need to audition additional fabrics.  And those huge 10 3/4″ corner squares, what will look best with the cat fabric?

Have you ever made a quilt with a border fabric?  What advice do you have for me?

Leave a Reply

