Ponderosa

DSC_0018In January 2015 I was asked to beta test a mystery pattern designed by Beth Karr.

The mystery would be revealed at Camp Gravatt which served as the inspiration.  Camp Gravatt is known for the thousands of pine trees on the property.

This is my original quilt top, snow covered pine trees.

I did not like the original background fabric and took it apart.  After all this time I have found enough yardage on eBay to finish my UFO.

Could you imagine the stars on the midnight blue fabric as snowflakes?  Upside down it could be 12 dreidels.  Now to press, square up, make a binding and select a backing.  So happy to have this UFO completed.

DSC_0015

The not-so-fun part of my days are spent in the yard repairing a retaining wall that was damaged during the October floods.  If the original work had been done correctly, it would not have fallen over.  Estimates were between $5,000 and $10,000 and I did not receive any insurance or FEMA money.  This is a DIY with help from the most wonderful neighbors.  And it will be done correctly this time.

Have you ever constructed a retaining wall?  What suggestions can you give me?

Leave a Reply

